I’m Back!

Back where it all started

Antonello Zanini
3 min read5 days ago
Photo by The Chaffins on Unsplash

It’s been about a year and a half since my last blog post and almost two years since I was blogging regularly. During this time, a lot has happened…

…I found my way out of a toxic relationship, my grandpa died, I started going to therapy, took a few months to reassess, began to feel better again, traveled around Europe, and ultimately rediscovered the creative need to blog.

So, here I am!

Some of you may know me for my technical content, others for my pieces on language learning (or as the Editor-in-Chief of the now-defunct Language Hub publication), some for my essays about life and human stupidity, and others might have no idea who I am. No matter what, don’t worry — this is going to be a new beginning.

During these months, I went through a lot, and it wasn’t always easy to handle human connections as I should have. I lost touch with most of the people I met online over the last two years, and I regret some of the decisions I made, especially here on Medium.

It took me a few months and a lot of work to realize how much my toxic relationship was affecting me, and finding a new sense of normality wasn’t easy. Still, I’m here to move forward, not here to dwell on the past.

In recent months, I decided to make a clear distinction between my content. All my technical content has been moved to dev.to, so that my Medium account is now filled with only non-technical blog posts.

While I was moving articles from one platform to the other, I also deleted most of my articles, keeping only the ones I genuinely love and find interesting. As a minimalist, that felt necessary.

In the coming months, I’ll take some time to personalize my Medium account. The goal is to clearly separate my public image as a software engineer from the more human and personal side of myself. I want to create a cozy, more authentic space that doesn’t have much to do with my work as a technical writer and IT consultant.

Now, essays are no longer the main type of content I intend to write. Don’t get me wrong, I might still write occasional articles on fascinating topics. However, most of my content from now on will be old-school blog posts.

I’ve always loved writing, and taking a nearly two-year break wasn’t good for me. It’s time to go back to the beginning of my journey, when I was writing short pieces about what was going on in my life.

The writing style I’m going to adopt from now on will be very different from the formal tone I’ve generally used in the past. I want these new blogs to feel like pages from my diary. Don’t expect AI-generated fluff, SEO-driven articles, or content aimed at making money. For now, I don’t even plan to activate the paywall on any of my new blog posts.

I want to write because I am passionate about it and feel the need to do it. There’s no other reason behind my return. And I love it!

If some of you interact with me, I’ll be more than glad to see your comments and grow a small community. Otherwise, it’s just going to be me writing for myself — just like it was in my early days as a writer and as I always envisioned writing before I started making a living from it.

So, without further ado, I’d like to introduce you to my new Medium account.

Welcome to my diary!

--

--